Notice Words of Wisdom

The following crosses my mind, what will I feel about this blog in the future? Will I be embarrassed? Proud? Both and laugh it off? I donโ€™t know. For this blog, I chose not focus too much on my creative writing or academic. Instead, I decided to write about the things that Iโ€™m learning at school, people and life in general because I feel these influence my writingโ€”whether theyโ€™re positive or negative aspects of my life. When I am done writing my first book (praying to God I finish it + fingers crossed haha), I wonder how many of those thoughts will reflect in my work? Weโ€™ll have to see.

Recently, a relative of mine stated that he will not listen to anyoneโ€™s advice. He feels that if he doesnโ€™t experience anything on his own or โ€œseesโ€ it for himself, then he will not believe the experience of the other person; therefore, he will not consider anyoneโ€™s words but his own. โ€œWhat a Thomas!โ€ I thought. Obviously, we all make mistakes. Experiences do teach us what we did right or wrong. However, if someone can give you their โ€œexpertโ€ opinion about any given subject, then why not listen? To me, his response was so tragic. I believe that everyone has something to teach us, arguably. Often we take for granted those who we think are โ€œlesserโ€ than usโ€”sometimes indirectly or directlyโ€”another tragedy.

For instance, one of my momโ€™s friends cleans houses on a daily basis. She told me about the best products that will do a better job for mirrors, television screens, floors, counters so on and so forth in comparison to other products. I was astonished at how practical her suggestions were because they did make a difference. For example, Windex doesnโ€™t work as great as the product Glass. As insane as this sounds, I thought of cleaning as its own form of art. Have you walked around the mall and taken a look at how clean certain places are? It takes effort, the right product, and the right movement to leave surfaces intact. That and you donโ€™t want to destroy your cabinets if they happen to be cherry wood.ancient-1807518

Fine, Iโ€™ll admit itโ€”it has happened to me, and I wish I would have asked before ruining a piece of furniture–or read instructions, which I hate to do–not wise, I know. But what did I learn? I learned that I better heed the words of my motherโ€™s friend so that I did not destroy something else. Now, I still endured the experience of the destruction of a piece of furniture. Nonetheless, there are too many materials out there in the world or in my house that I can still annihilate due imprudence or ignorance. Why not ask an expert about it? And thatโ€™s exactly my point. Even those who we assume cannot offer us a piece of their knowledge have something to teach us.

Children can teach us, teenagers, and yes, I said it, teens can teach us, and old people, especially those with more years of experience. We expect to learn from those who we take in high esteem. And thatโ€™s great! Because I like learning from those guys or gals too. However, how much broader can we make our minds if we learn from those who we expect not to learn from? Itโ€™s almost a whole different world.

If I donโ€™t have to hit my head against a wall to learn a lesson (metaphorically of course; Ouch!), then I will be more than glad to ask questions and learn from an expert. Some experts charge a lot of money for their advice. So, if someone is gracious enough to willingly guide me and be my mentor, by all means, I will heed their words. Admittedly, at times, Iโ€™ve rejected adviceโ€”then hours, days, weeks, months, or years later I thought, โ€œOh, thatโ€™s what they meant. Darn it!โ€ And this is okay too, it happens. We might not always agree with the experts, but itโ€™s good to listen, consider, and learn.

10 thoughts on “Notice Words of Wisdom

  1. I agree with your view of things we can and do learn from others. I remember an advice by one of my highschool teachers. He implied that experience isn’t the best teacher, but rather, learning from others experience is.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

