Black Eyed Peas:”Where Is The Love? ft. the World

Hello, everyone. Today, I encountered the revamped version of โ€œWhere is the loveโ€ now featuring the World (โ€œWhere is the Love? Ft. the Worldโ€). Iโ€™m very happy that celebrities of different ethnic and race background gathered to spread a strong and balanced message. I wonโ€™t go into too many details, and I will try to keep my opinions to myself because the song in itself explains what none of us or most could express.

One of my favorite lines is,โ€œEveryone mattersโ€ฆeveryone hates somebody…love is the solution. Love is powerful.โ€ And something we all agree is that the media has been spreading more hate than anything else.

This song arrives at a perfect time because we need to disseminate a more positive message, as well as realistic.

When I wake up every day, I donโ€™t think of my skin color or my gender. I wake up thinking, โ€œIโ€™m Anaโ€ or โ€œIโ€™m a person. Time to get ready for the day ahead.โ€ Imagine waking up to: โ€œIโ€™m Hispanic.โ€ โ€œIโ€™m a woman.โ€ โ€œIโ€™m a Grad student.โ€ โ€œIโ€™m single.โ€ โ€œIโ€™m a trainee.โ€ โ€œIโ€™m American.โ€ I mean, probably some those do cross my mind. Nonetheless, Iโ€™m worried about the day ahead as I mentioned. Will I encounter animosity from someone due to my skin color, gender, personality or something else? Perhaps. But perhaps not.

 

My parents taught me this saying at a very young age, โ€œhoney, youโ€™re not a golden coin. Not everyone is going to like you.โ€ (LOL!) Long story short, when I was a kid, I came home upset because some peers didnโ€™t like me.

https://anaprose.wordpress.com/2016/09/03/black-eyed-peaswhere-is-the-love-ft-the-world

skeletal-601213_1920
I got this free picture from https://pixabay.com/en/skeletal-flower-congratulations-601213/

At any rate, another reason I like the message of โ€œWhere is the Love?โ€ is the consciousness of the whole world. As Americans, we tend to cling on to our ethnocentricity. Itโ€™s all about us. We have to keep in mind that we live in a much bigger world where suffering happens elsewhere too. Others suffer too. Not just us. Inequality. Racism. Misogyny. Violence. Abuse. So on and so forth.

I personally meditate in different ways to free myself from the influx of our adverse environment. I like to write, and it helps me understand my feelings and those of others. I also read the Bible and dwell on it, and I pray. I try not to have prayers based on repetitionโ€”instead, I hold a conversation with God because I feel as if Iโ€™m the patient, and He is the therapist listening to all my emotions and or dilemmasโ€”and yes, I feel He can both feel and listen to emotions. I try to expel as much negativity as possible from my mind. Itโ€™s quite difficult. However, in the end, I find it exceptionally helpful to the soul and mind.

As Iโ€™ve said it before, the news serves to disperse too much animosity, so itโ€™s best to turn off the television at times. Enjoy the song! Please, leave your thoughts and comments about the song. ย #whereisthelove

 

Leave a Reply

